Tap, tap, tap…is this thing on?

29 Jul

If there’s one thing Mel’s recent verbal tirade at girlfriend, Oksana Grigorieva can teach us is to assume we are always being recorded. My father once told me, “Never put anything in print you wouldn’t want to see on the front page of a newspaper.” This advice came in handy years later when my law enforcement partner and I were conducting an investigation. At one point during the collection of evidence, an altercation broke out between my partner and a suspect. During this altercation, my partner said some fairly off-colour remark about the suspect and his parents. These comments made their way to the Director of our department, and my partner was reprimanded. My partner was a bit of a hothead, but from that time forward, I would constantly remind him, “Before we go in, imagine that there is a camera on your head and a microphone in your pocket and everything you do is being recorded.” This piece of advice served us well for the remainder of our careers.

In reality, few people expect to be subjected to the kind of scrutiny that Mel is experiencing, but it bodes us well to apply this principal in all our affairs. A colleague told me recently, “I respect you because I can trust that you will do the right thing even if no one is watching.” Just remember, even though you may not notice, someone is always watching.

Leave a Reply

